Cell Growth: CNTs made as a substrate promote cellular growth

Reports of toxicity of CNTs are usually presented when the mode of delivery is free floating in media, not for a substrate with CNTs embedded, whereas CNTs embedded into a substrate or made as a substrate promote cellular growth. Depending on the mode of exposure and/or material presentation, CNTs may lead to toxicity or promoted tissue growth (although significantly more research is required). Furthermore, it is important to emphasize that not all CNTs are the same. Some impurities may be left over from unreacted catalysis known to be toxic to cells, while others have fully reacted catalysts presenting relatively pure CNTs to cells. Such differences in CNTs can clearly have profound influences on CNT toxicity.

David A. Stout  and Thomas J. Webster, Materials Today, JULY-AUGUST 2012 | VOLUME 15 | NUMBER 7-8| pp 315

A microfluidic system is introduced for simultaneously measuring single-cell mass and cell cycle progression over multiple generations. This system was used to obtain over 1,000 h of growth data from mouse lymphoblast and pro–B-cell lymphoid cell lines.

Scott R Manalis, (Koch and MIT), Direct observation of mammalian cell growth and size regulation, Nature, Vol 9, No 9, Sept 12

In a comprehensive single-cell study to examine the inter-relationship of cell growth and the cell cycle – single yeast cells were studied microscopically using a fluorescent reporter protein as a proxy for cell mass Di Talia, S., Skotheim, J.M., Bean, J.M., Siggia, E.D. & Cross, F.R. Nature 448, 947–951 (2007).

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Cell Growth: CNTs made as a substrate promote cellular growth

  1. You may claim that, but utilized a really real
    a single. If you are considering a job at home opportunity that will work for you, then Strength Influx Marketing Inc’s immediate email program could be to suit your
    needs. Before looking at Quality Control (QM)
    approaches, it will also help you realize far better whenever we return back
    a little and take a glance at these approaches.

  2. I really like looking through a post that can make people think.
    Also, many thanks for permitting me to comment!

  3. It’s an remarkable article ffor all the web
    viewers; they will take benefit from it I
    am sure.

  4. Hey there I am so delighted I found your weblog,
    I really found you by accident, while I was searching on Askjeeve for something else, Nonetheless
    I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a fantastic
    post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t
    have time to read through it all at the moment
    but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I
    have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the awesome job.

  5. What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this
    I’ve found It absolutely helpful and it has helped me out loads.
    I am hoping to give a contribution & aid different users like its helped me.
    Great job.

  6. Hello There. I foun your blog using msn. This is an extremely neatly written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it annd return to learn more of your useful info.

    Thank you for the post. I’llcertainly comeback.

  7. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or blog
    posts in this kind of house . Exploring in Yahoo I at
    last stumbled upon this website. Reading this information So i am glad to
    show that I have a very excellent uncanny feeling I came upon just what I needed.
    I most no doubt will make certain to don?t omit
    this site and give it a look regularly.

Leave a Reply

